Stories With Ms. Jenna

Storytimes, Programs, Booklists, and More!

Folder Story: Lovely Ladybug

on December 14, 2013

Originally created by Kathryn over at Fun with Friends at Storytime. As I recite the poem, I’ll pull out the sheets of paper so the ladybug changes color!

WP_20131213_004

“Let’s play a ladybug color game
I’ll give you rhyming clues
If you know it, say the name
Of each color that I use!

The first color for our buggy fellow
Is the color of sunshine
It’s the color yellow.

Frogs in the pond and a fresh snap bean
Did you guess the color green?

The sky above and the ocean too
Such a beautiful color, it’s the color blue.

Strawberry ice cream, come on now, think.
You are right! It’s the color pink!

Grapes for jelly on a P B & J,
Purple is the color we say!

Pumpkins or basketballs rolling by
Orange is the color that we now spy.

Fluffy clouds and the moon at night
Did you say the color white?

Roses that grow in a garden bed
Are this beautiful color, the color red.

Ladybug, ladybug up in the sky
Thanks for the fun
and now we say, Goodbye!”

WP_20131213_012 WP_20131213_001 WP_20131213_006 WP_20131213_010

To make this, I started by cutting a circle on one side of a manila folder. Then, I attached a piece of dark paper for the head with little white paper circles for the eyes. I used a sharpie to draw the antennas. Then, I cut two squares of clear contact paper. I attached a piece to one side, stuck on the dots, and then attached the other piece to the other side to everything was secured in. I stapled the edges of the folder together. I used color papers for all the colors mentioned in the poem (as well as gray as a starting point, but you could start with any color not mentioned later). I made tabs using folded over scotch tape on each page so they are easy to pull out as I say the poem. Lastly, I attached the words of the poem to the back. This is my first folder story, but it definitely won’t be my last!

WP_20131213_009


4 responses to “Folder Story: Lovely Ladybug

  1. […] Folder Story: Lovely Ladybug […]

  2. […] Lovely Ladybug from Fun with Friends at Storytime- I made my own copy of this since I loved it so much. Thanks Kathryn for introducing me to the wonderfulness that is […]

  3. […] Lovely Ladybug. (This didn’t fit into my theme at all, but it was a great way to get participation from the kids without making them move) […]

Leave a comment