Stories With Ms. Jenna

Storytimes, Programs, Booklists, and More!

Storytime: Happy Birthday!

on March 13, 2014

Last night I had the first storytime of a new session (our patrons register for 6 week sessions of storytime). Half my kids are returnees from last session, and half are new! I have a mixed group of 2-6 year olds with a lot of siblings which is really fun. Since my birthday is this upcoming Saturday, our theme was “Happy Birthday!”

Book: The Birthday Pet by Ellen Javernick

birthdaypet

Rhyme: “A Birthday”

Today is everyone’s birthday
Let’s make us a cake (form cake with hands)
Mix and stir, stir and mix (stir)
Then into the oven to bake (push hands out)
Here’s our cake so nice and round (make a circle)
We frost it pink and white (spread frosting)
We put five candles on it (hold up hand)
To make a birthday bright!
source

I then repeated the rhyme twice with tiny cake (small motions) and large cake (big motions).

Book: It’s My Birthday by Helen Oxenbury

itsmybirthday

Flannel Rhyme: “Five Birthday Candles

WP_20140226_001 - Edited

Song: Laurie Berkner Band “Five Days Old”

I’m sitting here I’m one day old
I’m sitting here I’m two days old
I’m sitting here I’m three days old
I’m sitting here I’m four days old
One day I’ll be a year
Then I’ll be two then three then four
But as for now I’m sitting here
I’m five days old and no days more

jumping up, clapping my hands, kicking out my legs, getting tired, jumping up

Book: If You Give a Pig a Party by Laura Numeroff

ifyougiveapig

Rhyme: “Make a Wish”

Big birthday cake (make huge circle with arms)
Ice cream in a dish (cup hands)
Here are the candles (wiggle fingers on one hand)
Now make a wish! (blow and make fingers into a fist)
source


One response to “Storytime: Happy Birthday!

Leave a comment