Stories With Ms. Jenna

Storytimes, Programs, Booklists, and More!

10 Most Anticipated 2015 Middle Grade Books

on December 9, 2014

Looks like 2015 will be another great year of middle grade! Here are the top 10 books I cannot wait to get my hands on:

newts

Nnewts: Book 1 by Doug TenNapel (1/6)

I’ve really enjoyed TenNapel’s previous graphic novels with their fast-paced adventurous stories and vibrant art. This new one is the start to a series!

echo

Echo by Pam Muñoz Ryan (2/24)

I have yet to read a book by this author, but I will definitely read this one. It’s almost 600 pages and follows various characters all connected by a harmonica. Consider me intrigued!

wishgirl

Wish Girl by Nikki Loftin (2/24)

I haven’t finished my best-of-2014 lists yet, but you can bet Loftin’s Nighingale’s Nest will be on there. This new book follows a girl with cancer and a boy who doesn’t fit in with his family. Together, they plan an escape.

forgottensisters

The Forgotten Sisters (Princess Academy #3) by Shannon Hale (3/3)

It’s a new (and the last!) Princess Academy book. Of course I will read it. Of course I will love it.

jack

Jack by Liesl Shurtliff (4/14)

In the vein of her first novel, Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin, Shurtliff brings us another fairy tale retelling- this time about Jack & The Beanstalk!

gonecrazy

Gone Crazy in Alabama (Gaither Sisters #3) by Rita Williams-Garcia (4/21)

Another story about the Gaither Sisters! I want this series to continue on forever because I love spending time with these girls.

cleopatra

Cleopatra in Space #2: The Thief and the Sword by Mike Maihack (4/28)

I loved the first book in this graphic novel series about a time-displaced Cleopatra and can’t wait to see what happens next!

fromthenotebooks

From the Notebooks of a Middle School Princess by Meg Cabot (5/19)

I grew up on the Princess Diaries series, so I’m very excited that Cabot is exploring that world more!

lostinthesun

Lost in the Sun by Lisa Graff (5/26)

Graff is an automatic-read author for me. This new book is “a touching story about a boy who won’t let one tragic accident define him.”

goldenspecific

The Golden Specific (The Mapmakers Trilogy #2) by S.E. Grove (7/14)

Immediately after finishing the first book in this series, The Glass Sentence, I deemed it my favorite middle grade fantasy since Harry Potter. Really hoping book 2 is just as amazing!

Leave a Reply

