Stories With Ms. Jenna

Storytimes, Programs, Booklists, and More!

Comics Count

on October 27, 2014

comics

Over at my library’s blog, I posted about why comics count as reading. I listed the benefits of reading comics and gave a short booklist of some of my favorites. I’ve heard too many parents say that comics aren’t really reading yada yada yada, so I’m hoping this post might help convince them otherwise! Read the post here: Comics Count.

2 responses to “Comics Count

  1. mandymarie20 says:

    I would love to use comics with the kids. The only problem is few have Accelerated Reader tests so the kids won’t touch them. When my only money is from the Book Fair, it’s just impossible to justify buying. Any tips?

    • Jenna says:

      That is really unfortunate. I loved AR when I was a kid, but now as an adult and librarian, I see how problematic it can be because it limits kid’s choices in reading. Actually, by the time I was in middle school I just read whatever I wanted- AR points be damned! Anyway, I think it’s important for all libraries to offer comics, whether they have AR tests or not. However, since it’s hard for you to justify buying them, perhaps you could look into getting some donated? Also, look into more educational comics that would be easier to justify getting. “Reading with Pictures” is a good resource.

Leave a Reply

