Stories With Ms. Jenna

Storytimes, Programs, Booklists, and More!

Storytime: September 10, 2014

on October 3, 2014

It’s taken me a while to get around to posting my storytimes so I’m going to play catch-up over the next few days! This fall, I’m back to doing my weekly evening family storytime. Participants sign up for a 6 week session. For the first time ever, I’ve decided to go theme-less (I’ll write a post about this eventually). Instead, I’m just doing any books or rhymes that suit my fancy. I’m using the same Hello and Goodbye songs that I’ve always used. This was my first storytime of the new session:

Rhyme: Hickety-Pickety Bumble Bee

Hickety-Pickety Bumble Bee
Won’t you say your name for me?
Miss Jenna
Let’s clap and say it.
Miss-Jen-na (clap with syllables)
Let’s say it loud!
Miss-Jen-na!
Let’s say it quiet.
Miss-Jen-na.

-Go around and do this will all the kid’s names

Book: The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli

watermelon

Rhyme: Stretching

When I stretch up, I feel so tall.
When I bend down, I feel so small.
Taller, taller, taller, taller.
Smaller, smaller, smaller, smaller.
Into a tiny ball.
Source

Flannel: The Enormous Turnip

WP_20130912_007

Song: “The Freeze” from Kids in Motion by Greg & Steve

Book: Hug Machine by Scott Campell

hug

Song: Five green and speckled frogs

Five green and speckled frogs
Sat on a speckled log
Eating the most delicious bugs – Yum, yum!
One jumped into the pool
Where it was nice and cool
Then there were four green speckled frogs.
(continue countdown)

Book: Down by the Cool of the Pool by Tony Mitton

downby

Leave a Reply

