Stories With Ms. Jenna

Storytimes, Programs, Booklists, and More!

Storytime: Red, White, & Blue

on July 28, 2014

A “Red, White, & Blue” themed storytime to use near the 4th of July!

Books:

redhen itlookedlike petethecat

The Red Hen by Rebecca & Ed Emberley
It Looked Like Spilt Milk by Charles G. Shaw
Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes by Eric Litwin
Little White Rabbit by Kevin Henkes
Red, White, and Boom! by Lee Wardlaw

littlewhiterabbit redwhiteboom

Songs & Rhymes:

Blue, Blue
Blue, blue is the color I see
If you’re wearing blue, then show it to me
Stand up, take a bow, turn around
Show me your blue and sit back on the ground

repeat with white and red
source

Jim Gill’s Irrational Anthem
Oh say can you see me slap on my knee?
If you’ll do the same, we’ll begin this new game.

Oh but say I have plans to add clapping hands.
And this we’ll repeat ’til the song is complete.

Oh say just suppose that we tried tapping toes
And attempted all three simultaneously.

Oh say have you tried to sway side to side?
Lean left, then reverse … on this, the fourth verse.

Oh say I’ll advise that you now close your eyes.
And let me remark … it’s more fun in the dark.

Oh say one more thing. Do you think you could
sing? La la la la la la la la la la la la………

Fireworks
(Mary Had a Little Lamb tune)

Fireworks go
snap, snap, snap (snap fingers)
crack, crack, crack (slap knees)
zap, zap, zap (make flashing motions with hands)
Fireworks make me
clap, clap, clap (clap hands)
on Independence Day!
source

The Freeze from “Greg & Steve’s Kids in Motion
Tell the kids, when they freeze, they have to freeze in a firework pose (however they want to interpret that)

Leave a Reply

