Stories With Ms. Jenna

Storytimes, Programs, Booklists, and More!

C2E2: Getting the Most out of Graphic Novels in Your Classroom and Library

on April 25, 2014

WP_20140425_00620140425181457 - EditedToday at C2E2 (Chicago Comic & Entertainment Expo), I was on a panel as part of their “Professional Day” programming. The panel was a joint collaboration between Reading With Pictures and ALA‘s Graphic Novels & Comics in Libraries Member Interest Group. Our session was titled “Getting the Most out of Graphic Novels in Your Classroom and Library.”

Our moderator, Josh Elder, talked about Reading With Pictures and how they collaborate with educators and librarians. Check out their website for more info!

Jim McClain discussed how his comic Solution Squad can be used to teach math skills to middle schoolers.

Educator David Cutler talked about using comics in his high school history classes.

I was the public librarian perspective on the panel, and rather than present a specific program, I talked about how I developed the juvenile graphic novel collection at my library and how I continue to promote it. I mentioned the 10 Benefits of Reading Comics Handout I made, and bringing Free Comic Book Day to my library (which I will blog more about after the event next week!)

I had a great time today at C2E2, and I’m excited to head back tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

