Stories With Ms. Jenna

Storytimes, Programs, Booklists, and More!

Storytime: Space

on April 17, 2014

Storytimes take planning. There are some non-librarian folks out there who think storytimes are just throw together, but the reality is far different. I lead a weekly evening family storytime for ages 2-6 with their families. I come up with a theme each week, and then find books that not only fit that theme, but will work as a good read aloud for a mixed age group. I have to balance different length books with movement rhymes and songs (that also tie-in to the theme), and sometimes throw in a flannel story (which requires making the flannel pieces and learning the story!).

All that being said, sometimes the days just get away from me, and I need to plan my storytime at the last minute. When this happens, my favorite resource is Jbrary. Not only do they have an amazing pinterest with many boards for a variety of storytime themes, they also have a fantastic youtube channel filled with storytime songs. I mention this all because going into work on Wednesday, I had my stack of books ready for storytime, but hadn’t yet prepared any songs. I looked no further than Jbrary to find 4 fabulous songs for my theme: Space!

Book: I Took the Moon for a Walk by Carolyn Curtis

itookthemoon

Song: We’ll Be Orbiting Around the Moon

We’ll be orbiting around the moon, yes we will
We’ll be orbiting around the moon, yes we will
We’ll be orbiting around the moon X 3
Yes we will

We’ll be landing on the Moon…
We’ll be walking on the Moon…
We’ll be blasting off again…
We’ll be landing back on Earth…

Book: Moon Plane by Peter McCarty

moonplane

Song: My Little Space Shuttle

Bumpin’ up and down in my little space shuttle
Bumpin’ up and down in my little space shuttle,
Bumpin’ up and down in my little space shuttle,
Won’t you go to the moon with me?

My space suit’s on and my boots are, too…
We step on the moon and bounce up and down…

Book: Higher! Higher! By Leslie Patricelli

higher

Song: Zoom, Zoom, Zoom

Zoom, zoom, zoom
We’re going to the moon.
Zoom, zoom, zoom
We’re going to the moon.
If you want to take a trip
climb aboard my rocket ship.
Zoom, zoom, zoom
We’re going to the moon.
In 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
Blast off!

Book: Zoom, Rocket, Zoom! By Margaret Mayo

zoomrocket

Song: Climb Aboard the Spaceship
Tune: The Itsy Bitsy Spider

Climb aboard the spaceship,
We’re going to the moon.
hurry and get ready,
We’re going to blast off soon.
Put on your helmets
And buckle up real tight.
Here comes the countdown,
Let’s count with all our might.
10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1—BLAST OFF!!

Leave a Reply

