Stories With Ms. Jenna

Storytimes, Programs, Booklists, and More!

Storytime: Hugs & Kisses

on February 14, 2014

Since Valentine’s day is this week, I wanted to do a storytime related to it without actually saying it’s a Valentine’s day storytime. Instead, my theme was Hugs & Kisses! (Although I did still give out Valentines… awesome superhero ones!)

Book: The Perfect Hug by Joanna Walsh

perfecthug

Rhyme: I Can Hug

I can hug, hug, hug,
I can hop, hop, hop,
I can kiss, kiss kiss,
I can stop, stop, stop.
I can nod my head yes,
And I can shake my head no,
And I can sit down very low.
source

Book: Hug a Bug by Eileen Spinelli

hugabug

Song: Skinnamarink

I remembered this song from childhood, but wanted a reminder of all the motions… so I youtubed it of course and found this glorious video:

Skinnamarinky dinky dink
Skinnamarinky do,
I love you!
I love you in the morning,
And in the afternoon
I love you in the evening,
Underneath the moon…

Book: Dinosaur Kisses by David Ezra Stein

dinosaur

Song: Heart Freeze Dance
“Silly Dance Contest” –Jim Gill (The Sneezing Song)

I borrowed this idea from Sunflower Storytime. I cut out paper hearts, and at the “freeze” parts, the kids had to hold the hearts high in the air.

Dance any way you want to
Dance any way you please
Dance any way you want to
Bur stop when I say freeze.
Jump as high as you want to…
Dance as fast as you want to…
Dance as slow as you want to…

Book: Big Hugs, Little Hugs by Felicia Bond

bighugs

Leave a Reply

