Stories With Ms. Jenna

Storytimes, Programs, Booklists, and More!

Best of 2013: Picture Books

on December 3, 2013

I read more picture books than ever in 2013, and it was really hard to narrow it down to the best of the best! I was planning on doing a top 10, but there were so many worthy of recognition that I decided to do a top 20. Stay tuned over the next few days for my other (shorter) Best of 2013 booklists.

20. The Mighty Lalouche by Matthew Olshan, Sophie Blackall
19. Have You Seen My New Blue Socks? by Eve Bunting, Sergio Ruzzier
18. If You Want to See a Whale by Julie Fogliano, Erin E. Stead

themightyhaveyouseenifyouwant

17. Windblown by Edouard Manceau
16. Bluebird by Bob Staake
15. Xander’s Panda Party by Linda Sue Park, Matt Phelan

windblownbluebirdxanders

14. Open This Little Book by Jesse Klausmeier, Suzy Lee
13. Mr. Tiger Goes Wild by Peter Brown
12. The Dark by Lemony Snicket, Jon Klassen

openthismrtiger  thedark

11. The Bear’s Song by Benjamin Chaud
10. Ribbit! by Rodrigo Folgueira, Poly Bernatene
9. The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt, Oliver Jeffers

bearssongribbitdaythecrayons

8. Hank Finds an Egg by Rebecca Dudley
7. The Tortoise & The Hare by Jerry Pinkney
6. That is Not a Good Idea! by Mo Willems

hankfinds tortoisethatisnot 

*drumroll please* And now… for my favorite 5…

5. Mr. Wuffles by David Wiesner

mrwuffles

4. Please Bring Balloons by Lindsay Ward

pleasebringballoons

3. A Long Way Away by Frank Viva

alongway

2. Flora and the Flamingo by Molly Idle

flora

And my favorite picture book of 2013 goes to the gorgeous, wordless, fantastical…

1. Journey by Aaron Becker

journey

What were your favorites?

3 responses to “Best of 2013: Picture Books

  1. Jenna – I’m flattered! What a great surprise!!!

  2. […] gave you lists of my favorite picture books and then my favorite middle-grade novels, and so today it is only fitting that I present my […]

Leave a Reply

