Stories With Ms. Jenna

Storytimes, Programs, Booklists, and More!

#NerdLution: A Comic A Day

on December 2, 2013

Some folks from Nerdy Book Club were tweeting about their personal goals and making commitments and thus #nerdlution was born! Starting today (12/2), for the next 50 days, the goal is to commit yourself to doing something each day such as writing, exercising, reading… whatever it is that you keep thinking you want to/ should do, but keep putting off!

My NerdLution is: A comic a day! It can be a single issue, a graphic novel, or manga. It can be for children, teens, or adults. I’ll check in each day on twitter with what I read, and will post a weekly update to the blog.

When I was a kid, I really enjoyed newspaper comics, but it wasn’t until high school that I read my first graphic novel (300 by Frank Miller, read before seeing the movie). It wasn’t until college that I realized graphic novels were something I really enjoyed (realization after reading American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang). And it wasn’t until my last semester of grad school (earlier this year!) that I started buying and reading issues of comics (all began with a comics and graphic novel class where we read the first 2 trade volumes of Ultimate Comics Spider-Man II, and I needed to continue with the story Miles Morales as Spider-Man so I started buying the issues as they came out).

I have found so many series that I love, and there are also such amazing stand-alone graphic novels. However, even with how quick they are to read, I’ve found myself starting series and then not keeping up with them, despite good intentions. In addition, I’m in charge of the Juvenile Graphic Novel collection at my library and always mean to read some of the awesome new titles that I purchase, but I’m constantly sidetracked by other novels. Therefore, my NerdLution begins today: A comic a day. I plan on catching up with some favorite series and discovering new titles. Wish me luck! And let me know if you have any recommendations of must-reads!

Leave a Reply

