Stories With Ms. Jenna

Storytimes, Programs, Booklists, and More!

Too Much Noise

on October 12, 2013

I tell the folktale “Too Much Noise” using these finger puppets:

WP_20131012_001

I bought these at IKEA. The story is usually told using barnyard animals and a farmer, but I adjusted it so it would work with the puppets I have. So in my version, this man is the zookeeper. And he takes these animals from his zoo. It really doesn’t make a lot of sense still with that bunch of animals and this man who is supposed to be a groom? pilgrim? I’m not sure. But I have told this story to around 6 different groups of kids ranging from ages 2-6 and no one has ever questioned me. In the story, the zookeeper wants to go to sleep but he can hear the leaves outside and his bed and the door and he says there is too much noise. So day after day he goes to the wise old woman and asks for advice. Each day she tells him to bring a different animal into his room. The children always join in with making the different animals noises. Eventually, the wise old woman tells him to bring all the animals back in the zoo and then he’s able to fall asleep.

3 responses to “Too Much Noise

  1. […] recently shared my finger puppet story of Too Much Noise. For that version I say the man is a zookeeper and brings in his animal from the […]

Leave a Reply

